5 Fab Bay Area Businesses

I have a confession…I love lists. To-do lists, checklists for everything from my garment production to packing for travel.  I’m always talking  about shopping local and shopping small. So I have created this list to highlight a few great East Bay businesses that I’ve discovered over the last year. This list is by no means complete, but I’ll post on my favorite businesses regularly – so stay tuned for more!

Common Thread  offers super cute childrens’ accessories manufactured in the Bay Area. I had the pleasure of meeting one of the owners, Allison, during an event we did together over the holidays. I was immediately drawn to the colorful, fun fabrics, and even recognized a fabric that I had also used in one of my designs. I bought this adorable zebra skinny tie for my godchild – I couldn’t resist! Everything is manufactured locally in the Bay Area.

baconcupcake

Choclatey Pig Cupcake from We The Minis

Chocolatey Pig Cupcake from We The Minis

We the Minis  bakes delicious cupcakes and macarons in Oakland that are just the right amount of sweet (not too sweet) and they donate 5% of their profits to charity. Along with classic flavors like Red Velvet they have unconventional flavors like Churro and Lavender Honey and even Chocolatey Bacon! You can find them at various events like Treasure Island Flea or order on their website – and deliver for free on orders over $50! I just ordered some for Oakland Fashion Network‘s upcoming cocktail mixer, and praying that there will be leftovers that I can take home.

Alchemy Bottle Shop  is a super cool store near Lake Merritt with a curated selection of spirits and mixers – more types of bitters than you imagined possible! I picked up bottles of Aztec chocolate bitters and cardamom bitters for a holiday gift. Their offerings of liquors is wide but not overwhelming, and they carry some harder to find varietals like Nikka whiskey from Japan (which I highly recommend!)

Feed the Fish Co.  stocks fun and cheerful celebratory crafts – you can’t help but smile when you see Erin Garcia’s colorful craft work! She makes everything by hand also takes custom orders – she sells kits so you can do some of the work yourself. I am excited that she will be joining us for a pop up in Sebastapol on Sat. 4/16 at littlefour, along with fabulous artist Maureen Shields.

Clove and Hoof  I was so happy when this butcher shop and restaurant opened in my North Oakland neighborhood last year. We went there during their first week, and were pleasantly surprised when we were given some free fried chicken – which turned out to be the best fried chicken I’ve ever eaten. It has a light and crispy crust, juicy meat and is glazed with fish sauce caramel – which may sound odd, but trust me, you will be so happy you put it in your mouth! They have a solid selection of sustainably raised meat along with sausages, pates, and specialty items like beef tongue pastrami. A highly recommended spot for all of your carnivorous needs.

What are you some of your favorite local businesses? I’d love to hear about them- please share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

